Tag Archives: cloud

HHS Issues Guidance on HIPAA and Cloud Providers

The Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) recently published guidance on HIPAA requirements governing the use of cloud computing entities, specifically cloud services providers (CSPs). In this guidance, HHS explains that CSPs that create, receive, maintain, or transmit protected health information (PHI) on behalf of a covered entity or business associate are considered business … Continue Reading

Webinar Invite: Moving to the Cloud: Privacy and Other Key Considerations for Healthcare Entities

Join Covington for a webinar discussion of issues facing life sciences companies as they increasingly utilize cloud services to collect, aggregate, store and process data as part of our Life Sciences Essentials series. May 13, 2015 12:30 p.m. – 2:00 p.m. EDT 9:30 a.m. – 11:00 a.m. PDT 4:30 p.m. – 6:00 p.m. GMT Click … Continue Reading

Moving to the Cloud: Some Key Considerations for Healthcare Entities

Healthcare providers, health plans, and other entities are increasingly utilizing cloud services to collect, aggregate, store and process data.  A recent report by IDC Health Insights suggests that 80 percent of healthcare data is expected to pass through the cloud by 2020.  As a substantial amount of healthcare data comprises “personal information” or “protected health … Continue Reading
LexBlog